You don’t need to start from scratch. Here are places to go for books, information, ideas, solutions and other fun stuff.

 Associations

Association for Healthcare Philanthropy (AHP) www.ahp.org
Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) www.afpnet.org/ethics
Association of Philanthropic Counsel (APC) www.apcinc.org
Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) www.case.org
Development Executives Roundtable www.dersf.org

 

Education

Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University www.philanthropy.iupui.edu

Fund Raising School at the Center on Philanthropy www.philanthropy.iupui.edu/thefundraisingschool

 

Ethics

The Donor Bill of Rights www.afpnet.org/ethics/enforcementdetail

AFP www.afpnet.org/ethics/content

 

Lobbying

Charity Lobbying in the Public Interest www.clpi.org
Independent Sector www.independentsector.org

 

Publications

Chronicle of Philanthropy www.philanthropy.com
Harvard Business Review hbr.org
Jossey-Bass www.josseybass.com
McKinsey Quarterly www.mckinseyquarterly.com
San Francisco Business Times www.bizjournals.com/sanfrancisco
Stanford Social Innovation Review www.ssireview.org

Research

Giving USA www.givingusareports.org
Pew Internet and American Life Project www.pewinternet.org

 

Resources

BoardSource www.boardsource.org
Bridge Star www.bridgestar.org
DIOSA Communications and Nonprofit Tech www.diosacommunications.com
Foundation Center www.fdncenter.org
Guidestar www.guidestar.org

 

So You Want Ideas?

Seth Godin Marketing Guru sethgodin.com
Showcase of Fundraising Innovation and Inspiration sofii.org

 

United Kingdom

Institute of Fundraising www.institute-of-fundraising.org.uk
Just Giving www.justgiving.com
National Center for Voluntary Organizations www.ncvo-vol.org.uk
The University Women’s Club
(inexpensive and fun place to stay in London; contact Suzanne for information)
www.universitywomensclub.co.uk
UK Fundraising www.fundraising.co.uk

 

Comic Relief

(For those occasional moments of despair, or you can always call Suzanne for counsel!)
The Onion www.theonion.com